I’ve wanted to blog for some time and today felt a good day to start – I’m not sure why.

I’m the kind of person that needs to research everything. E.g. I decide I’m interested in CSS programming, I buy a book and DVD, join a class, spend weeks reading forums and articles on-line and question everyone I know with any related knowledge. Is this merely the normal behaviour of a 21st-century creative or some strange obsessive disorder? Who knows?

Whatever it is, I do NOT want to take this approach to blogging. It would defeat the whole purpose. I have no idea why I’m doing it or how it will develop, and I like it that way.

I lie. I know why I’m doing it.

Over the past six months or so I have become addicted to the writing of others. In some cases it’s been the blogs of family and friends, and in others the ideas, ramblings and advice of professional strangers. Both have contributed to the growing (now irresistible) urge to jump on board.

I feel like the guitar students that I used to teach, nervously playing the most basic chords. For me, 28 years of age, the painful, beautiful chords are words and ideas, and I am the most eager of students.

Bear with me.

